Charity Shop Haul

    haul

Hello!

Next Sunday (the 7th), I am doing a craft fair at The Nichols Building in Shalesmoor, Sheffield. While I have got lots of lovely things to sell, I couldn’t decide how to set them out on the stall, so after much Pinterest searching I decided to get some vintage plates to make a cakestand type thing (technical).

I went to the Stroke Association shop in Sheffield City Centre which is just next to the John Lewis car park for people who know Sheffield. It’s a pretty big shop and has a huge variety of items for sale, and in the back corner it has loads of plates, tea sets, candle holders and general bric-a-brac, which was exactly what I was looking for!

I picked up three plates, two glasses, and a baskets and it cost me £7.97 which I think is pretty good as they should last me a while, breakages aside! The first plate is a little side plate and cost £1.25. It is very floral, and I love the little bumblebee in the middle! This will be the top plate on my cake stand.

plate right way up

The next plate matches my bedcover pretty well! This one was £1.99 and it has a few imperfections, but that adds to the charm, I think.

matchingplate

This plate is kind of like a tray/ bowl/ plate. It has weird handle things and is quite deep, so I’m planning to put that on its own and not make it part of the cake stand.

plateagain

These two glasses are probably for some type of alcohol, but little ol’ innocent me has no idea which type! (Maybe because I drink everything from mugs…) I’m planning on using them for the inbetween bits as they are quite tall and thin. They cost 99p for the pair.

glasses

This basket is probably a fruit bowl, I’m sure we had an identical one once…. It cost £1.75 and I’ll deck it out with some fancy lining and it’ll be good for holding something, I’m sure!

basket

I’ll put a new post on when I’ve stuck them all together so you can see how the finished cake stand looks! Hopefully it’ll be ok to serve it’s purpose!

Talk to you soon!

sig

Leave a Reply

